Various Artists - 18 New Wave Classics, Vol. 1

Number of Discs
Release Date
Various Artists
CD / Album
Label / Studio
JCI Associated Labels


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

The first volume of 18 New Wave Classics, distributed by Warner, has a decent variety of '80s hits. It stretches the new wave's existence by a few years, including the Smiths' "How Soon Is Now," Erasure's "Chains of Love," and Siouxsie & the Banshees' "Kiss Them for Me" -- all of which were released after the era had drawn to a close. Undeniably new wave singles from ABC ("Poison Arrow"), Berlin ("The Metro"), the B-52's ("Rock Lobster"), and Devo ("Jocko Homo") make for some of the highlights. A label would have to try very hard to bungle a new wave compilation, and it would be impossible to be definitive within the space allowed by one disc, so this is no better or worse than most other compilations covering this period. ~ Andy Kellman

1) How Soon Is Now? - The Smiths (03:53)
2) Original Sin - INXS (03:46)
3) Kiss Them for Me - Siouxsie and the Banshees (04:29)
4) The Metro - Berlin (04:10)
5) I Ran (So Far Away) - A Flock of Seagulls (03:45)
6) Poison Arrow - ABC (03:25)
7) Only You - Yazoo (03:14)
8) Funkytown - Pseudo Echo (03:42)
9) I Wanna Be a Cowboy - Boys Don't Cry (03:42)
10) Walking in L.A. - Missing Persons (03:40)
11) Chains of Love - Erasure (03:37)
12) Lips Like Sugar - Echo & the Bunnymen (04:52)
13) New Song - Howard Jones (04:15)
14) Ways to Be Wicked - Lone Justice (03:28)
15) Dancing in Heaven (Orbital Be-Bop) - Q-Feel (03:09)
16) Money (That's What I Want) - The Flying Lizards (02:33)
17) Jocko Homo - Devo (03:38)
18) Rock Lobster - The B-52s (04:53)

18 New Wave Classics, Vol. 1
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
18 New Wave Classics, Vol. 1 | Various Artists