Michael McDonald - Sweet Freedom: The Best of Michael McDonald

Number of Discs
Release Date
Michael McDonald
CD / Album
Label / Studio
Warner Archives / Rhino


Unfortunately it looks like someone took the last one.

Sign up to the DecluttrStore to be the first to hear about the latest offers, competitions and product information!

Sign up now
FREE Tracked Shipping

Quality Guarantee
Verified by visa and mastercard securecode

For too long, there wasn't a Michael McDonald compilation available domestically. Rhino/Warner Archives' 2001 release The Very Best of Michael McDonald corrects that situation, offering a generous 16 tracks, including duets and a previous unreleased version of Higher Ground. The collection concentrates solely on his solo recordings for Warner/Reprise, which means it ends in 1993 and doesn't include anything from his long-delayed 2000 album. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, because McDonald stopped having hits in the late '80s, so there's nothing missing (even though casual fans can be forgiven for wondering why latter-day Doobie Brothers singles aren't here; at a certain point, those became indistinguishable from McDonald's solo work). At its best -- which would be "No Lookin' Back," "I Keep Forgettin' (Every Time You're Near)," "Yah Mo Be There," "On My Own," and "Sweet Freedom" -- this captures everything that's good about laid-back, West Coast, soul-tinged soft rock. At its worst, it's professional, well constructed, and listenable, lacking only songs that work their way underneath your skin. In a way, the length works against the compilation, since the merely pleasant feels like padding, but McDonald's greatest hits remain sterling examples of finely made, soft blue-eyed soul. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1) No Lookin' Back - Michael McDonald (03:51)
2) I Keep Forgettin' (Every Time You're Near) - Michael McDonald (03:42)
3) I Gotta Try - Michael McDonald (03:53)
4) Our Love - Michael McDonald (04:22)
5) Yah Mo B There - James Ingram / Michael McDonald (04:32)
6) On My Own - Patti LaBelle / Michael McDonald (04:39)
7) By Heart - Michael McDonald (04:37)
8) Bad Times - Michael McDonald (04:23)
9) Matters of the Heart - Michael McDonald (04:29)
10) Sweet Freedom - Michael McDonald (04:05)
11) Get the World Started - Michael McDonald (05:40)
12) Any Foolish Thing - Michael McDonald (04:24)
13) Take It to Heart - Michael McDonald (05:54)
14) Higher Ground - Michael McDonald (04:03)
15) Lost in the Parade - Michael McDonald (03:49)
16) Blink of an Eye - Michael McDonald (04:53)

Sweet Freedom: The Best of Michael McDonald
Main Format
Explicit Lyrics
Keyword Index
Sweet Freedom: The Best of Michael McDonald | Michael McDonald